Adobe Presents Visual Effects Award at Short Film Festival

  • Film

Adobe has been thrilled to participate in the 42nd edition of the International Short Film Festival in Clermont-Ferrand, France, by presenting the Visual Effects Award by Adobe (‘Prix des Effets Visuels Adobe’). The winner of this award is  Mémorable, directed by Bruno Collet. This 12-minute animated film narrates the perceptions of painter Louis as Alzheimer’s disease robs the people and objects around him of their rigidity, and the experiences of his wife Michelle who must watch her husband fade away. Mémorable also won the prestigious Audience Prize (‘Prix du Public’) at this year’s festival. 

The festival’s swimming pool cinema.

For this year’s visual effects award, ten 3D specialists on the Substance by Adobe team compiled a shortlist of high-quality films, before passing the final selection across to a panel of professionals: Jean-Charles Kerninon (CG Supervisor, Brunch Studio), Matthias Pasquet (Artistic Photographer, Poly—), and Geoffrey Rosin (3D Technical Artist, Adobe). The award itself was created by local artist Nokat; this is the third such visual effects award she has created for the film festival. 

2019 Edition Visual Effects Award, designed by Nokat.

The International Short Film Festival traces its origins back to 1979, before formally establishing itself as a competitive film festival in 1982. Since then, it has become the most prominent short film festival in the world. In France, it is second only to the Cannes Film Festival in terms of number of attendees – in 2018, the festival counted more than 165,000 film admissions. 

The festival’s closing ceremony.

This is the first year that Adobe has sponsored the International Short Film Festival. In 2018 and 2019, the festival was sponsored by Clermont-Ferrand-based Allegorithmic, creators of the Substance 3D texturing toolset. Allegorithmic has subsequently joined the Adobe family, forming a key component of Adobe’s 3D&AR division; Adobe is delighted to be able to continue this initiative of supporting independent filmmaking talent. 

Read more